KCCA FC are 2016/17 UPL champions, there 12th League Title

By David Kugonza

KCCA retained the Azam Uganda Premier League title with a 2-0 win over Lweza at the Phillip Omondi Stadium Tuesday evening.

The Kasasiro boys came into the game with 57 points from 27 games and a five-point advantage over nearest rivals SC Villa who had played a game more and needed just a point to claim the league tittle.

Penalties from Tom Matsiko and the leagues top goal scorer Geoffrey Sserunkuma got them the point they needed and more to seal a 12th title and fourth in five seasons.

With 12 titles now Mike Mutebi’s boys are fast closing in on the record 16 held by rivals Villa.

Years KCCA FC have won the league: 1976, 1977, 1981, 1983, 1985, 1991, 1997, 2007-2008, 2012-2013, 2013-2014, 2015-2016, 2016-2017

In the other games on the day

Saints 2-0 Soana

First half goals from Godfrey Wakaza and Sulaiman Kibirige were enough to hand The Saints a vital 2-0 victory over Soana and the side’s first win in Bombo since their return to the ground, and the result means Moses Basena’s side now need just one win from the remaining two games to maintain their status in the Uganda Premier League.

Vipers 4-1 Onduparaka

Vipers humiliated Onduparaka during a one sided game at the St Mary’s stadium in Kitende.

Erisa Ssekisambu scored a brace, Brian Nkuubi scored a first time shot and on form striker Tonny Odur scored a long range beauty to earn all the 3 points.

Kirinya-Jinja SS 4-0 JMC

Uganda Premier League debutants Kirinya-Jinja SSS revived their hopes of staying in the league with a comfortable victory over already relegated JMC on at Kakindu Stadium in Jinja.

All the Results 

Kirinya-Jinja SS 4-0 JMC

BuL 4-2 Sadolin

Express 0-2 Proline
Police 1-3 URA

Vipers 4-1 Onduparaka

Saints 2-0 Soana

KccaFc 2-0 Lweza Fc