FIFA unveil ‘The Best’ awards to rival Ballon d’Or

FIFA and France Football ended their Ballon d’Or union back in September Now world football’s governing body have announced their own new prize The inaugural ‘Best FIFA Football Awards’ will take place in January 2017 The shortlists for ‘The Best’ individual prizes will be announced this week
The awards will take place in Zurich on January 9, 2017, after France Football magazine’s coveted Ballon d’Or winner is announced in December.

FIFA President Gianni Infantino, said: ‘This event will be about football and its most passionate participants – players, coaches and fans.

‘It is a new event with new approaches to celebrating the game we all love.’

‘The Best’ also features a new voting system that sees fans have a say in the player and coach of the year in both men’s and women’s football.

The winners will be chosen by a process in which 50 per cent of the result is based on the choices of captains and head coaches of all of the world’s national teams.

The other 50 per cent will be split between the result of an online public ballot and the submissions from a selected group of more than 200 media representatives from around the world.

There will also be a new FIFA Fan Award. A panel of football experts will shortlist remarkable moments throughout the year and it will be up to the fans to vote for their favourite moment on FIFA’s digital platforms.


The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2016

The Best FIFA Women’s Player 2016

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2016

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2016

The FIFA PuskAs Award 2016

The FIFA Fair Play Award 2016

The FIFA Fan Award 2016

FIFA FIFPro World11

STORY BY DailyMail Sport