BBC African Footballer of the Year nominees announced

The five men in the running for the award have been named with the public now able to vote on who should be crowned this year’s winner
Out of the five nominees, three of them have claimed the award before, as they now set their sights on becoming the first players since Jay-Jay Okocha to win the gong twice.

The nominees areĀ Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Andre Ayew, Riyad Mahrez, Sadio Mane and Yaya Toure who make up the five-man shortlist for the BBC African Footballer of the Year award.

Launched in 1992, when Ghanaian footballer Abedi Pele was the inaugural winner, the prize has since developed into its current format.


The winner will be decided by fans from across the world, who have until 28 November to vote for their choice.