Vetting of ministers continues

Parliament’s appointments committee continues with the vetting of new ministerial appointees.

Those vetted today include new justice minister Kahinda Otafire, Kidhu Makubuya who is now general duties minister and the Karamoja affairs minister Janet Museveni.

Others include Irene Muloni, Jesca Alupo, Dr. Crispus Kiyonga, finance minister Maria Kiwanuka and Agriculture minister Buchanayandi Tress.

First to be vetted were the three nominees for the position of Deputy Prime Minister.

They include Hon. Eriya Kategaya, Henry Muganwa Kajura, and Moses Ali for first, second and third Deputy Prime Minister respectively.

Speaking shortly after appearing before the committee, the nominees dismissed as irrelevant concerns about their advanced age.

The energy minister Hon. Muloni has pledged to ensure that the revenues generated from oil are well managed and invested to improve infrastructure.

Jesca Alupo on the other hand hopes to transform the education sector having worked with the youths in her previous capacity.

Story by Olive Eyotaru