Speaker to name adhoc committee today

The Speaker of Parliament, Rebecca Kadaga is expected to name an adhoc committee to investigate the oil sector.

The constitution of the committee is part of the resolutions passed by Parliament during a 2-day special session held at Parliament a fortnight ago.

The committee will be tasked to investigate allegations made against three top government officials, among them Prime Minister, Amama Mbabazi, Foreign Affairs Minister, Sam Kuteesa, as well as Eng. Hillary Onek, the Internal Affairs Minister.

During the heated oil debate, Western Youth MP, Gerald Karuhanga tabled documents before the House, pinning the ministers for allegedly received kickbacks from oil companies to influence their involvement in the sector.

Karuhanga revealed that 17 million dollars was allegedly paid to Hon. Kuteesa by Tullow Oil while Hon. Onek received over 6 million Euros from Tullow Oil.

He further revealed that Mbabazi and Onek allegedly benefitted from the sale of production rights from Heritage Oil to Eni Oil Company.

The ministers have however maintained their innocence.

The committee will also delve into other allegations of corruption in the whole sector.

However, anti corruption activist are uncertain on the fate of the probe since Members of Parliament who were earlier united in demanding for accountability in the sector are currently sharply divided.

The Executive Director anti Corruption Coalition Uganda Cissy Kagaba says, ensuring transparency and accountability remains a great challenge.

Story by Olive Eyotaru and Victor Anecho.