Rebel MPs will stay in parliament



The four rebel NRM MPs will not leave parliament.

The Supreme Court has ruled that the expelled NRM members of parliament continue representing their constituencies until all their cases are disposed of.

MPs Theodore Sekikubo (Rwemiyaga County), Banabas Tinkasimire (Buyaga County), Wilfred Niwagaba (Ndorwa East) and Mohammed Nsereko for Kampala Central went to the Supreme Court challenging the Constitutional Court decision throwing them out of parliament.

The court had ruled that they stay out of parliament temporarily pending determination of the main petition filed by their party and its two members.

However, six out of the seven justices led by Bart Katureebe have ruled in favour of the MPs, on grounds that they have to appeal. Justice Esther Nankya did not agree with the ruling.

 Mohammed Nesereko, one of the rebel MPs has welcomed the ruling saying it will enable them to continue representing their people even as the court battles continue.