Parliament votes new Speaker

Members of the 9th parliament have started casting their vote to elect a new Speaker.

The voting is being conducted by secret ballot and the process is presided over the Chief justice Benjamin Odoki.

The NRM Candidate Rebecca Kadaga was nominated by the party Secretary General Amama Mbabazi, seconded the Nakaseke Woman MP Rose Namayanja and the Isingiro North MP Bright Rwamirama.

The opposition candidate Nandala Mafabi was nominated by Makindye West MP Hussein Kyanjo, seconded by the Kitgum district woman MP Beatrice Anywar and John Ken Lukyamuzi.

The process however turned dramatic after opposition members nominated outgoing speaker Edward Sekandi, of whom they have been strong crititics.

Sekandi was nominated by Kyadondo East MP Ibrahim Nganda, seconded by Betty Namboze Bakileke.

Sekandi however said he was not consulted by those who nominated him and declined the nomination.

The voting is now on going and the newly elected Speaker will be expected to preside over the election of his or her Deputy.

Story by Olive Eyotaru/Ben Jumbe