Parliament approves Sekandi and Mbabazi

Parliament has approved the appointment of Edward Sekandi and Amama Mbabazi as the new Vice President and Prime minister respectively.

The former speaker of parliament together with former security minister Amama Mbababzi were named by the president at an NRM caucus meeting yesterday for the positions of Vice president and Prime Minister respectively.

Sekandi replaces Prof Gilbert Bukenya, while Mbabazi replaces Prof. Apolo Nsibambi who is retiring from cabinet.

The motion for Sekandi’s approval has been tabled by Soroti Municipality MP Mike Mukula and seconded by Alebtong MP Rebecca Atengu, Bushenyi Woman MP Mary Karoro Okurut, and Dokolo county MP Okot Ogong.

The motion has been supported overwhelmingly with 244 out of the 245 members present in the house voting in its favor.

Presenting the motion, Hon. Mukula has described Sekandi as a leader with a clean record and untainted image.

Meanwhile, the motion for the approval of Amama Mbabazi as Prime minister has been tabled by Bunyangabu MP Hon. Adolf Mwesigye.

It was approved by Hon Kasule Lumumba Justine, Workers’ MP Sam Lyomoki, Mukono North MP Kibuule Ronald and Katikamu North Abraham Byandaala.

225 out of the 245 MPs voted in favor of the motion.