Oil bonanza money final report to be debated today

By Moses Kyeyune

Parliament’s Committee on Commissions, Statutory Authority and State Enterprises is today expected to present to Parliament, its final report on the oil bonanza money.

The report was carried forward from yesterday to allow Members of Parliement enough time for debate.

In its report, the committee has recommended that all the 42 government officials refund the Sh6bn they shared as a reward by the president for winning the landmark arbitration tax dispute in Landon between Uganda, Heritage Oil & Gas and Tullow Oil.

The 95 page report by the Committee chaired by Bugweri County MP Abdul Katuntu also notes that the payment of a bonus to the officials who participated in the arbitration case was erroneously done.

The list of beneficiaries includes Doris Akol the URA Commissioner General who received Shs242m, Former Attorney General Peter Nyombi, with Shs226m and the late Chris Kasami the former Permanent Secretary Ministry of finance who got 93m.

The others are Jennifer Musisi who was the head of URA legal department at the time Shs121m, Solicitor General Francis Atoke who got Shs234m and Keith Muhakanizi, the then deputy secretary to the treasury who got Shs108m.