NRM wins Parliamentary race

The NRM has won both positions for the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Parliament.

Rebecca Kadaga was declared Speaker earlier today having won the race with 302 votes while her opponent, the FDC’s Nandala Mafabi polled 57.

Jacob Oulanya has also won the race for the Deputy Speaker of Parliament with 299 against 58 scored by his opponent Odonga Otto.

There were 2 invalid votes recorded, with one going to army MP Major General David Tinyefuza and the other to Winfred Niwagaba, both of whom were not in the race.

There were also 2 invalid votes in the Speaker’s race, with one cast for outgoing speaker Edward Sekandi who was not in the race and another for Jacob Oulanya, who was a candidate for the position of Deputy Speaker of Parliament.

Both the Speaker and her Deputy have been handed instruments of power by the Chief Justice Benjamin Odoki .

Nandala Mafabi and Odonga Otoo have conceded defeat and moved to congratulate their new leaders.

Kadaga becomes the first woman Speaker for the Ugandan Parliament and has promised objective service.

Story by Olive Eyotaru