NRM Stick to the Exit Clause from Parliament for Expelled Rebel MPs

NRM party insists that the four expelled MPs should vacate parliament once they are expelled from their party.

Through its lawyers led by Joseph Matsiko told seven justices of the Constitutional court that the four MPs should vacate office and asked court to dismiss their appeal challenging the Constitutional Court ruling that saw them thrown out of Parliament.

Lawyers submitted that their client [NRM party] spent a lot of financial resources in sponsoring the four MPs during 2011 general elections.

The seven justices led by Jotham Tumwesigye will deliver their ruling when ready.

However the MPs through their lawyers Caleb Alaka and others they want the Supreme Court to find out that the lower court wrongly exercised its discretion by allowing a petition signed by President Yoweri Museveni as NRM Chairman.

They also say it was wrong for the constitutional court to admit the evidence by the president regarding this case because the constitution grants him immunity from any court proceedings.

They were expelled from their party on allegations of misconduct.

The affected MPs are Muhammad Nsereko (Kampala Central), BernabasTinkasimire(Buyaga County), Wilfred Niwagaba (Ndorwa East) and Theodore Ssekikubo (Rwemiyaga County).