New High Court Judges Posted

Seven newly appointed High Court Judges have been deployed to various stations by the Principal Judge Dr. Yorokamu Bamwine.

According to the Administrative Circular, ten other judges were transferred, which also confirms the creation of eight new High Court Circuits and the dissolution of one, bringing their total number to 20.

Justice Suzan Okalany also the lead prosecutor in the 2010 terror case to Mbale, Justice Anna Bitature Mugenyi goes to the Commercial Court, Ketrah Kitariisibwa Katunguka goes to the Land Division, Stephen Mubiru is posted to Arua, Anthony Oyuko  Ojok (Fort Portal), Justice Kazibwe Moses Kawumi (Kabale), while Dr. Flavian Zeija is posted to Masaka.

The transfers have also seen Lady Justice Henrietta Wolayo transferred to the Civil Division in Kampala from Soroti, Lady Justice Patricia Basaza Wasswa to the Civil Division from Jinja, Lady Justice Elizabeth Jane Alividza to Commercial Court from study leave, Lady Justice  Damalie Lwanga to the Land Division from Nakawa, and Eva Luswata to Jinja Circuit from Land the Division.

Others are Justice Michael Elubu (Jinja from Kabale), Justice David Batema (Soroti from Fort Portal), Justice Vincent Okwanga (Gulu from Arua), Justice Benjamin Kabiito (Fort Portal from Civil Division), and Lady Justice Margaret Mutonyi (Mukono from Gulu]

Principal Judge  circular also indicates the existence of nine vacancies in the new Circuits of Iganga, Tororo, Rukungiri, Hoima, Mpigi and Luwero, the Criminal Division, Family Division and the High Court Circuit in Gulu.

Story By Ruth Anderah