Nomination of candidates for Arua Municipality by election kicks off

By Benjamin Jumbe

The Electoral Commission today starts the nomination of candidates vying for the Arua Municipality parliamentary seat.

According the electoral commission chairman Justice Simon Byabakama, the nomination exercise is to run for two days at Arua District Headquarters.

Nomination is to be followed by a campaign period for the successful candidates running from 23rd July to 13th August 2018 ahead of polls set for Wednesday 15th August 2018 at all polling stations in Arua Municipality.

Meanwhile, Nusura Tiperu one of Uganda’s former East African Legislative Assembly representatives is the NRM flag bearer in the Arua Municipality by-election.

This is after she beat 7 other candidates in the party primaries held yesterday to carry the flag.

Speaking to KFM the party’s electoral commission chairman Dr. Tanga Odoi said Tiperu got 1,797 votes against her closest rival Swadik Angupale who got 1,443.

Tanga says the party flag bearer is to be presented at Arua district headquarters for nomination this morning.

The opposition Forum for Democratic Change party already named Bruce Musema its flag bearer in the August 15 by-election.

The Arua Municipality parliamentary seat fell vacant following the death of Col. Ibrahim Abiriga on 8th June 2018.