MP’s to elect Uganda’s representatives to the EALA tomorrow

Members of the 10th Parliament will tomorrow elect Uganda’s representatives to the East African Legislative Assembly.

The polls will take place on the floor of parliament. The race has attracted 47 candidates, including 37 independents, six from the Ruling National Resistance Movement party and two from the Forum for Democratic Change party.

The Democratic Party and the Uganda People’s Congress have one candidate each.

In the absence of new guidelines, the House will maintain the status quo were NRM takes six out of the nine slots, leaving two for the opposition and only one for the independents.

Related Stories 

Kadaga has assured the country on EALA elections

Margaret Nantongo Zziwa wants her EALA seat back

FDC Withdraws Tirunawe’s EALA Candidature