More judges approved


Speaker Kadaga

The Parliamentary Appointments Committee chaired by Speaker Rebecca Kadaga has today approved more judges to serve in Supreme Court, Court of Appeal and High Court.

Those approved today include Justices Duncan Gaswaga, Egonda Ntende and Amos Twinomujuni.

The three were reportedly approved without facing any resistance from members of the committee because they have the necessary qualifications to serve in their respective offices.

Meanwhile Gaswaga is said to have committed himself to fighting delayed delivery of justice as a way of reducing case backlog.

He has also promised to restore the lost glory and respect of the courts in the public eye and also promote total independence of the judiciary.

Altogether, twenty eight judges have been approved by parliament after they were appointed by the president.

None has been rejected although some faced some hurdles before the committee.

Story by Boaz Nahabwe