Mohamed Salah wins PFA Player of the Year award

Mohamed Salah has won the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year award for 2017-18.

The Liverpool forward, 25, beat Kevin de Bruyne, Harry Kane, Leroy Sane, David Silva and David de Gea in the vote by his fellow players.

Manchester City’s Sane won the young player prize, while Chelsea’s Fran Kirby won the Women’s Player of the Year award.

Bristol City’s Lauren Hemp was named Women’s Young Player of the Year.

“It’s an honour and especially as it’s voted by the players. I am happy and proud,” Salah said.

“I didn’t have my chance at Chelsea. It was clear I would return and show everyone my football. I think I left and came back a different person, man and player. I am happy and proud.”

Manchester City star Leroy Sane has won the PFA Young Player of the Year following a brilliant season for the Premier League title winners.

The 22-year-old has scored nine goals and produced 12 assists for his City team-mates, to help them win the English top flight title with five matches to spare.

Sane fended off competition from Harry Kane, Ederson, Marcus Rashford, Ryan Sessegnon and Raheem Sterling to land the prestigious award. 

Sane’s City team-mate Sterling, who has also thrived under Pep Guardiola this season, came third while Tottenham striker Kane took second.

Sane is the first player to win the award and win the Premier League in the same season since Cristiano Ronaldo in 2007.