Members Of The 10th Parliament Take Oath

458 members of the 10th Parliament start taking oath today in an exercise that runs until Wednesday.

The swearing-in event is expected to start at 8.30am on each of the gazetted days.

The Clerk to Parliament, Jane Kibirige notes that all the MPs-Elect will have to follow the laid down procedures.

Kibirige adds that due to the limited space, each member will be accompanied by only five people with parking space availed for one vehicle.

She further says access to the House will be through the main entrance on Parliament Avenue.

The event precedes the official opening of the 10th parliament on Thursday.

However, there are 117 MPs whose election is being challenged in courts.

Some of these will be sworn in and later be subjected to a by-election in the event that they lose their seats.

Story By Benjamin Jumbe