Kutesa Sails Through After Rivals Quit Mawogola Race

Foreign Affairs Minister and incumbent Member of Parliament for Mawogola Hon. Sam Kutesa has sailed through unopposed after all his rivals bowed out of the race.

Mr. Latif Ngozi, the Sembabule District Returning Officer has confirmed that Amon Asiimwe, Deo Kaweesi and Noordin Kalanda have all quit the race for various reasons.

Independent Amon Asiimwe was the first to quit the race, joining Kutesa’s camp after he agreed to integrate his ideas into Kutesa’s manifesto.
While independent candidate Deo Kaweesi and Noordin Kalanda who was contesting on the Go Forward ticket are said to have been approached by some top NRM leaders who asked them to step down for Kutesa.

The duo has however dismissed the claims saying that they were forced quit the race because of lack of funds for campaigns.

Reacting to the news, Mr.Vincent Kimbugwe the Coordinator of Go Forward activities in Sembabule has described the move as unfortunate.

Story By Malikh Fahad