EC declares FDC’s Paul Mwiru winner of the Jinja East by-election

By Benjamin Jumbe.

The Electoral Commission has declared FDC’s Paul Mwiru the winner of the Jinja East Constituency by-election beating NRM’s Nathan Igeme Nabeta and 6 others.

Mwiru garnered 6,654 votes against Nabeta’s 5043 votes, followed by Faizal Mayemba Masaba an independent candidate who got 117 votes.

Speaking to journalists shortly after, Mwiru applauded the voters for their overwhelming support pledging to continue serving them and representing them without fear or favor. He also asked the electoral commission and security agencies to investigate the origin of the pre-ticked ballot papers which were confiscated during the voting process yesterday.