Uganda Chooses Her 9 EALA Representatives

The race for the East African Legislative Assembly was concluded last evening with nine members elected to represent Uganda.

The Speaker of Parliament Rebecca Kadaga announced the nine winners out the 47 candidates who contested.

They are UPC’s Chris Opoka, Democratic Party’s Fred Mukasa Mbidde and Independent candidate Suzan Nakawauki.

The others are  Mathias Kasamba, Rose Akol , Dennis Namara, Paul Musamali , George Stephen Odongo,  Mary Mugyenyi all of the ruling National Resistance Movement Party.

398 of 428 MPs voted in yesterday’s elections.

Earlier the campaigns were characterized by drama as MPs kept singing, shouting drowning the speeches of most aspirants.

The most dramatic moment was when the heckled FDC’s Ingrid Turinawe, making her unable to make her presentation.