DCJ Kavuma’s possible replacements named

By Nelson Wesonga

The three judges in race to replace Deputy Chief Justice Steven Kavuma have been named.

Fredrick Egonda–Ntende, Lillian Tibatemwa and Alfonse Owiny–Dollo are the three nominees remaining on the list from which President Museveni will select Kavuma’s replacement.

The list originally had eight.

The Judicial Service Commission, which drew up the initial list of 8 has since dropped Irene Mulyagonja, the Inspector General of Government, and Lady Justices Esther Kisaakye, Hellen Abulu Obura, Solomy Balungi Bossa and Stella Arach–Amoko.

All the eight though had been nominated by either professional institutions or colleagues.

It is not clear when exactly the President will refer the prospective Deputy Chief Justice to Parliament for vetting but he should have forwarded the candidate’s name by September 29, 2017 when the current Justice Kavuma, will retire on account of age.