Dates for LC one elections set

Parliament’s Committee on Public Service and Local Government has set January 17, 2017 as polling date for village council elections.

The committee chaired by Igara West MP Raphael Magyezi has however been treated to free drama as members expressed concerns over a seeming non commitment by all the concerned ministers to appear before the committee as earlier arranged.

Those expected included Justice and constitutional affairs minister, Finance minister Local government minister and minister for Gender.

Mukono Municipality MP Betty Nambooze and Rukungiri Municipality’s Rolanda Kaginda on one hand were involved in a bitter exchange with Kamuli municipality’s Rehma Watongola over procedural issues.

The committee is expected to report to parliament next week, explaining the status of village council elections which were last held 15 years ago.