Busiro North votes for MP

Voting in the Busiro North by-election has kicked off though the turn-up is still low at most polling stations.

The race has attracted four candidates including NRm’s Prof Gilbert Bukenya, DP’s caster Bukenya, independent Henry Kiwuwa and Theopista Kanzara Baliluno.

The Electoral Commission boss Eng Badru Kigundu is personally supervising the exercise together with his deputy Joseph Biribwona.

NRM’s Prof. Gilbert Bukenya has cast his vote at Naguru Primary School polling station, in Buwanuka parish.

Bukenya came unaccompanied and voted without any fun fair. Independent candidate Henry Kiwuwa has also cast his vote at Kakiri town council polling station, in Kikubampanga.

Theopista Kanzara is expected to vote at Masulita polling station and Kasta Bukenya votes at Namponge. Speaking to KFM, the commission’s deputy chair Joseph Biribwona says the process is running smoothly so far and is hopeful that calm will be maintained.

Story by Ben Jumbe