9th Parliament Opens Today

The 9th Parliament officially starts business today with election of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Parliament top on the agenda.

The 8th Parliament was dissolved at midnight as stipulated in the Constitution, hours after 374 new MPs were sworn in.

Parliament’s spokesperson, Hellen Kaweesa told KFM that the ceremony, which will be presided over by the Chief Justice, Benjamin Odoki, will kick off at 10:00am.

Meanwhile the new MPs have been challenged not to support the candidates along party lines.

Dokolo Woman MP Cecilia Ogwal says candidates should not be elected basing on their party affiliation but focus should rather be on someone’s capability and potential to lead.

The race for speaker is between NRM’s Rebecca Kadaga and FDC’s Nandala Mafabi, while FDC’s Odonga Otto and NRM’s Jacob Oulanya are contesting for deputy speakership.

Story by Olive Eyotaru