South Sudan Finally Joins One Network Area

South Sudan has finally joined the one network area with three East African countries.
According to Juba-based Eye Radio, this was confirmed by South Sudan Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services, Rebecca Okwaci.

She however said the local call rates would not be affected by the changes.
The deal only  means there will be no additional charges to subscribers on account of roaming within the region, and no charges for receiving calls while roaming within.
There will also be a significant drop in cost of calls within Rwanda, Uganda, South Sudan and Kenya by an average of 60%.
The One Network Area is being implemented following a directive of the 5th Heads of State Summit held in Kenya back in May 2014.